In Kinship  |  Living Vibrantly
In Kinship
#6 - Do you have a favorite bowl you like to curl up with?​
0:00
-46:30

#6 - Do you have a favorite bowl you like to curl up with?​

Do you have a favorite bowl?  A bowl that you nestle up in your hands and joyfully spoon delicious food into your eager maw?  I do!

Not only do I have a favorite bowl…it’s a locally made large flatish wooden bowl made from the deepest darkest walnut that I purchased at my favorite farm store, but I have  favorite spoons. 

Like the tarnished silver one with the slight hourglass bowl and rose embossed on the stem that I found at a thrift store.  Favorite knives.  Favorite copper drinking cups.  Favorite cloth napkins that I made from the left over curtain material in my first vintage pop-up trailer love, Shirley.  

You get the picture.  Do you do that too?  

Of course it helps that I LOVE to eat good food.  And let’s be honest, good is completely subjective and for me ONLY refers to the fact that it tastes good and brings joy to my senses! 

Well, my guest today knows all about that and has been bringing sensual, delicious food into my home for years!  Food I joyfully eat in that favorite bowl.

Nicki Sizemore is a three time cookbook author, writer and educator.  She writes and publishes the newsletter (and podcast) Mind, Body, Spirit, FOOD, where she explores the rituals, traditions, and cultural influences around food, and how they connect us to our minds, our bodies, our spirits, the earth, and our communities.

And I am a fan.  I am.  The kind that gets a little tongue-tied!

Last fall, I saw a post Nicki had written on Instagram and in a split second I was sending her a message thanking her for elevating my meal time (life?) during a time when my life felt dull and grim and then in the next breath I asked her if she would be a guest on this brand spanking new podcast I was putting out into the world.    And she said YES!

And now, here’s that interview.  I can’t wait for you to listen. 
So without “further ado”….have a listen!

More about Nicki

Nicki Sizemore is a writer, cookbook author and educator.  As a trained chef, she spent two decades in the food industry, working as a recipe developer, food stylist and producer. She’s the author of three cookbooks and is the publisher of the blog, From Scratch Fast. Her work has appeared in publications such as The Washington Post, ParentsBetter Homes & Gardens, Real Simple, Eating Well, Fine Cooking, and others. Connect with her on social media @nickisizemore.

Books Mentioned in the podcast

The Way of Integrity by Martha Beck

Build a Bowl Cookbook by Nicki Sizemore

The Food Processor Family Cookbook by Nicki Sizemore

Fresh Flavors for the Slowcooker by Nicki Sizemore

Hey!  Do you know of someone who would make a great guest on the show?  (maybe you?) Email me tina@kinshiphandwork.com

A huge thank you for the support of our sponsor...Ricki Oldenkamp Marketing

Your message can do the heavy lifting for you–while you get to spend your time actually doing what you love. Passionate, founder-led businesses hire Ricki for her razor-sharp research skills and gift for bold language. She crafts high-quality, fluff-free copy in your brand’s authentic voice to drive conversions, increase profits, and help you achieve your business dreams — so you can live your most outstanding life.

For listeners of the podcast Ricki has a sweeter-than-a-caramel-macchiato offer for anyone wanting to dip their toes into working with her. She’s offering her Strategy Matchmaker Session, normally $250, for only $97 for the first 20 people to take advantage of the offer.  (get more info here)

The session clarifies your brand’s impact created from your current assets and the best-fit strategy to expand your reach for your specific goals.

You don’t need to throw every strategy under the sun at your business to see what sticks. Instead, be intentional with your time and effort so your messaging and the right assets do the heavy lifting for you.

After a deep dive 1:1 with Ricki to take stock of your current marketing, you’ll receive a strategy report that outlines your action items to separate yourself from others with similar offers. Ready to drive conversions, increase profits, and achieve your business dreams to live your most outstanding life?

Ricki’s ready to help you get there.

www.rickioldenkamp.com
IG: www.instagram.com/rickioldenkamp_
FB: www.facebook.com/rickioldenkampbusiness
LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/ricki-oldenkamp

0 Comments
In Kinship  |  Living Vibrantly
In Kinship
Let's explore what it is to create a vibrant life on our own terms as makers.