Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

#37 - Anything can happen. A conversation with a weaver and natural dyer.

with guest Jasmine Petrie

Jasmine Petrie is my guest on this episode, follow along as we talk about weaving, natural dyeing and being in the right place at the right time…or is it following the sparks to be on the right path?

jasminelacetextiles@gmail.com
howlattheloom.com
@howlattheloom

Bio:
Weaver, natural dyer, zine maker, loom doctor, life artist, teacher, and lifelong learner, Jasmine Petrie of Howl at the Loom resides in the forests of her childhood in Northern Michigan. She enjoys spending time with her family, tending garden, being in nature, and occasionally traveling afar.

Jasmine holds an A.A. and Certificate in Textiles from North Central Michigan College and continues to fulfill a hunger for deeper knowledge of fiber arts by seeking further study under seasoned instructors.

Artist statement:
I find inspiration from the symbiosis of the natural world, passing of the seasons, and the dilapidation of our industrialized society – and how it is all connected. I enjoy the different textures of various textiles and let them tell me what they want to be during my process, as I seek to utilize discarded materials as the focal point of many pieces. Through my studio practice, it is my mission to have as little waste as possible and to source any new materials from local and sustainable sources.

Discussion about this podcast